top of page

Ulster County Soil & Water Conservation District

5 Park Lane

Highland, NY  12528

(845) 883-7162 X3


Every County in New York State has a Soil and Water Conservation District.  The State passed enabling legislation for the creation of our agency after Congress, in 1937, established a federal conservation agency to address the nation's problems caused by the "dust bowl".  The legislation empowered local soil and water conservation districts to carry out and promote soil and water conservation programs. 

The Ulster County Soil and Water Conservation District was formed by County Resolution in April of 1965.  We are governed by a local Board of Directors appointed by the Ulster County Legislature to oversee programs and staff.  Ulster's Board consists of representatives from the County Legislature, Farm Bureau, Grange and At-Large.

For over forty years the District has maintained its long standing tradition as an agency of action, responsible for the direct design and implementation of engineering and agronomic practices intended for the improvement of water quality and the preservation of the County's natural resources, in both rural and urban capacity.

Our Staff

Margarete Wagner
Program Assistant

Christine DeGroodt
Program Assistant

Jake Wedemeyer
Executive Director

Travis Ferry
Technician, CCA, NYSESCCP

Adam Doan
Ashokan Basin Project Manager

Bobby Taylor
CSBI Program Coordinator

Allison Lent
Stream Assessment Coordinator, NYSESCCP

Mark Tollefson
Watershed Technician


Board Of Directors


Leonard Tantillo
Chair - Farm Bureau Representative

Sarah Van Nostrand
Secretary/Treasurer and the Grange Representative

James Delaune

Robert Davenport

Fred Wilklow

Herbert Litts, III
Legislative Representative

Kathy Nolan
Second Legislative Representative




Oscar Velez-Juarbe
District Conservationist

Scott Morris
IT Specialist- OCIO

Eleanor Richard
Civil/Agricultural Engineer  

Sam Roberts

Natural Resource Specialist


Jeffrey Jean

Program Support Specialist

bottom of page